Food

Cheap Lunch Idea: Turkey Sandwich

I had a habit of eating out for lunch. I’m frugal in most expenses but eating out was not one of them. At a cost of $5-10 per lunch, I could have saved $1,300 to $2,600 per year. This year, as part of our leaner budget, I made a goal to brown bag it daily. Parenthood changes your priorities. If I ever consider eating out for lunch, I think about how I can put the money in A’s college fund instead. It’s a good motivator for me.

Turns out, bringing lunch is great. I don’t only save money on lunch, I also save money on gas and time since I do not have to go out to buy food. Our local grocery recently had bread and deli meat on sale. For this week, I brought sandwiches for lunch.

Turkey sandwich coupled with some tangerines is a healthy lunch. It’s quick and easy to make. If you have a toaster oven at work, you can toast it first prior to serving.

20120224-193209.jpg

20120224-193248.jpg

20120224-193359.jpg

Discussion

One thought on “Cheap Lunch Idea: Turkey Sandwich

  1. keep it up, I wish I had your ideas and priorities when I was your age.

    Posted by tina | February 26, 2012, 3:25 am

Leave a Reply

