Parenting

The French Mom’s Parenting Style

Today my son was his usual playful self. I caught him about to do something he wasn’t supposed to. Instinctively, I gave him a disapproving look as I shook my head. I didn’t say a word but he understood what I meant. He backed off slowly and moved on to other things.

Interestingly, there’s a lot of blog talk about how French Moms enforce authority by giving their kids the “big eyes”. I’m not sure what it means exactly but it’s likely similar to the look I gave my son. According to Pamela Druckerman, the author of Bringing Up Bébé: One American Mother Discovers the Wisdom of French Parenting, the “big eyes” is one of the tools that French Moms use to raise obedient children.

One of my nephews is a very obedient kid even as a toddler. He excels in school and is very close to his parents. I asked him the reason once on why he is so obedient. He told me it was “the look” his mother would give him. Maybe there is something to this method after all. And maybe it’s not exclusive to French parents at all.

Discussion

One thought on “The French Mom’s Parenting Style

  1. I want one of those looks! Can you use them on husbands too, I wonder????

    Posted by imaginatemum | February 13, 2012, 9:41 am

Leave a Reply

